And Here We…Go (Pt. 3)

Here be the last installment of the introduction posts. Before we get into the informative, juicy bits, I have to say a few words.

I want to say thank you to everyone who commented on my first post about Korea here and everyone who has reached out to me during my time here so far. You really don’t understand how much it means to me to know someone cares enough to ask how I am doing, what have I been doing and how my work is going. I feel the love, and I really can’t thank y’all enough. So even if it takes me 2-4 weeks to reply to a message or comment, I immensely appreciate you and keep you in my mind.

Another quick bit, this time about fundraising. Thanks again to everyone who has donated so far to support me and the Korea YAV site. Your support, be it in any way, shape or form, directly affects the well-being of us here. To me, that means you care about someone enough to give without expecting anything in return. That’s awesome! That is what it is all about! That’s love, that’s Christ, that’s caring. It’s something else to be on the receiving end of that kind of support, and I’m thankful for the opportunity. If you would like to donate to my year or other YAVs to support their year of service, click this link and it will take you to the page with all of those who are serving this year.

So in this last installment of the looooong drawn out introduction, I will talk about the most important thing I have encountered here in Korea. I’m talking about the people and community surrounding the other YAVs and myself.

IMG_0367

Korea YAVs with our site supervisors and buddies at Thanksgiving

Our buddies help us out at our volunteer sites with translation and childcare, and I cannot stress enough how essential they are to making this whole process work. They are my lifeline to the city, and are some great friends. I know that though my time is short in Daejeon, I won’t forget how much they helped me when I was here.

Our site supervisors are the ones who work directly with us at our placements, and organize our positions with Kurt and Hyeyoung. They invite us into their communities of service and allow us to work with them in education and childcare. They do not need to do this, there are plenty of well-qualified people in Korea who, honestly, would do a better job than I am doing right now. But my supervisor knows that and took the chance on me anyway. I couldn’t believe it. I still have trouble understanding it, but knowing that these people have accepted me is humbling.

IMG_0019

Tomb for Korean King on a Hannam University Church retreat outside Daejeon

The last thing I will talk about is the amount of events we have been with our friends here in Daejeon. We have gone chestnut picking in the countryside, hiking, underground shopping, traveling to historical sites throughout the country and gone to singing rooms and restaurants all throughout Daejeon. I consider myself extremely lucky when I look back and see everything that I have done or been able to do. The Korean people are who I have to thank, and I don’t think I will ever stop thanking them.

Well y’all, this is it for the introductory set of blog posts. I’ll be filling in the cracks with everything that I’ve been up to, ranging from my day to day work to graduating Korean class. There are more pics up on my Facebook account, and I’ll work on putting more up on the ol’ wordpress.

As always, if you wanna hit me up check out my contact info in the about me page of the blog. I’m happy to answer questions you have about Korea, the YAV program, whatever. Thanks for reading y’all, I look forward to sharing more throughout the year.

Peace and Love,

Will

Leave a Reply

